Home / News / Chelsea star Eden Hazard nominated for FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013

Chelsea star Eden Hazard nominated for FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013

eden hazard

You may call it ‘Uefalona’ [UEFA + Barcelona] or whatever you may want, but Chelsea players have had little chance of winning the FIFA Ballon d’Or award. That situation is unlikely to change for the 2013 award despite Eden Hazard being nominated in the 30-man shortlist.

Frank Ribery, Lionel Messi, and Cristiano Ronaldo are the favourites to win this year’s award, but it is nice to see a Chelsea man on the list. Hazard deserves to be there along with Juan Mata, who is a surprise omission. Last season was the Belgian’s first in the Premier League. He has managed to take everyone by storm despite being young, in a new country, and in a new team with a lot of pressure.

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013 shortlist according to FIFA.com

Gareth Bale (Wales), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck Ribéry (France), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Brazil), Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin Van Persie (Netherlands), Xavi (Spain).

José Mourinho has also managed to make it into a shortlist for FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football 2013 along with Rafa Benitez.

Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain FC/Real Madrid CF), Rafael Benítez (Spain/Chelsea FC/SSC Napoli), Antonio Conte (Italy/Juventus), Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC former coach), Jupp Heynckes (Germany/FC Bayern München former coach), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid CF/Chelsea FC), Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil/Brazil national team), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal FC).

After managing to win only the Europa League last season, chances of a Chelsea representative winning the award seem low. Still, it is nice to be nominated.

One comment

  1. Chelsea go beat arsenal 4 0 in today match